Classroom › Settings
How OneRoster-based Syncs work
Three sync sources in Classroom are based on the OneRoster standard: Classlink, OneRoster (direct to SIS), Securly Sync. Each of these is configured on a separate tab under Roster Integrations. All three of this sync according to the following processes.
Users
Users are created from the /users feed, independently of class rosters. Requires a valid email on an allowed domain.
Imported roles:
OneRoster 1.1: student, teacher, aide, administrator
OneRoster 1.2: student, teacher, aide, counselor, principal, site / system / district admin
Staff are skipped if the email already belongs to another Classroom account.
Users are skipped if their email domain is not on the list of allowed domains configured in settings, unless “allow all domains” was configured. Sub-domains are accepted.
User deletions: Users who no longer appear in any class roster, have no class session history, and are not linked to any other sync source are automatically removed from the system during the full sync process. Users with class session history will not be deleted, but will have their link to the sync source removed.
Role changes
A role change in the source updates the user in Classroom, unless the role was changed manually, in which case the manual value is kept. To override, use the reset option in System > Roster Integrations.
School changes
Students — moved: old school removed, new school added
Staff — added: previous school retained
Future enrollment dates
Classes are imported as soon as they appear in the roster source, and students and teachers are created in Classroom. They are added to the class roster 14–15 days before their enrollment start date.
Until then, the class appears empty to admins and is not visible to teachers. Students are still imported and appear under Users.
Classes removed from the source
When classes no longer appear in the source, they are processed as follows:
No session history: class deleted
Has session history: class kept, all enrollments removed, class hidden from teachers. Manually added teachers are not removed.
Class Auto-archive
Classes that no longer appear in the source, but have a session history, will be automatically archived (which disables auto-start for the class if configured) according to the auto-archive settings configured for the source.
Also
Schools are never deleted: not by sync, not by unlinking a source.
Students are deleted nightly once they are no longer in any sync source, not enrolled in any class, and have no session history.