Skip to content
    Securly Learn DocsSign in
    All documentation

    Filter › Troubleshoot

    Understanding DNS Caching and Its Impact on Website Access

    You can add specific websites to the Global Allow/ Deny list to unblock/block them for all your users. To do this, navigate to the Policy Editor > Global Settings > Allow/Deny and add the websites there.

    allow_or_block.png

    However, you may sometimes find that a blocked site continues to be accessible to users, or an allowed site is still blocked. This issue may arise due to your DNS cache. DNS responses have a Time To Live (TTL) that can range from a few seconds to several hours. If you do not see your block/allow changes reflected, it may mean that the TTL on the DNS entry for that domain has not yet expired.

    Once the TTL expires and a new DNS query is made, your changes will be reflected. However, you can expedite this process by clearing your DNS cache.

    To clear your DNS cache, execute the following commands and restart your browser:

    1. Windows  - command line: ipconfig /flushdns
    2. macOS  - terminal: dscacheutil -flushcache

    Note that the DNS cache on your server will also need to be cleared.

    Windows Server

    In the DNS Manager, right-click on the server name and select ‘Clear Cache’.

    Windows_Server_Clear_DNS_Cache.png

     

    You're viewing the text-only version of the Securly Learn help center. Sign in for search, the AI assistant, images, audio, and downloads.